Experts - Rehabexpo Shanghai 
Home >> IRSF >> Experts

Honorary Chairman of IRSF 2016:


Prof. Kerong DAI

Director of Shanghai Medical Center of Joint Surgery

Director of Bone & Joint Research Institute, Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine

Director of Engineering Research Center of Digital Medicine and Clinical Translation, Ministry of Education, PRC

Director of Clinical Translation R&D Center of 3D Printing Technology

Director of Clinical Translational Center of Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine, Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine.


Through the interdisciplinary research on medicine, engineering, biology, and materials, as well as the integrated research on the clinic and basic, Prof. Dai developed the new bone implants and techniques, and actively promoted the clinical translation of basic research, contributing the development of Orthopaedic basic and clinical research, such as Orthopaedic rehabilitation, artificial joint, and bone regeneration, etc. 



Honorary Chairman of IRSF 2016:

Prof.SO Kwok Fai

Director of GHM Institute of CNS Regeneration at Jinan University, Guangzhou, China;

Chair of Anatomy in the Department of Ophthalmology and the State Key Laboratory of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Jessie Ho Professor in Neuroscience, The University of Hong Kong;

Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, member of the Advisory Committee/ 2011 Program, member of Consultative Committee/ the national 973 Program, 

Director of China Spinal Cord Injury Network (ChinaSCINet), 

Director of Hong Kong Spinal Cord Injury Fund (HKSCIF),

Co-Chairman of the Board of Director of the ChinaSCINet

Editor-in-Chief of Neural Regeneration Research.


Received Ph.D. degree from MIT, Prof.SO is one of the pioneers in the field of axonal regeneration in visual system. He was the first to show lengthy regeneration of retinal ganglion cells in adult mammals with peripheral nerve graft. He is currently using multiple approaches to promote axonal regeneration in the optic nerve and spinal cord. His team identifies neuroprotective and regenerative factors including: exercise, wolfberry, trophic factors, peptide nanofiber scaffold, and environmental manipulation. He is the author and co-author of over 370+ publications ; co-inventors of 23 patents.



Honorary Chairman of IRSF 2016:

Prof. Guoping Li

President of Asian Federation of Sports Medicine,

Vice President of International Federation of Sports Medicine, Games Group of IOC Medical Commission,

Chief Medical Officer of Chinese Olympic Committee,

Vice President of Chinese Society of Sports Sciences.


Prof. Li has founded Beijing Sports Medicine Hospital, established Chinese Society of Sports Medicine and created the medical service system for Chinese elite athletes. He has made a great contribution and social influence in China and abroad for the development and achievement of Chinese sports medicine. 

Chairman of IRSF 2016:

Prof. Kai Ming CHAN

Prof KM Chan is the Chair Professor of Department of Orthopaedics and Traumatology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Prof Chan clinical work includes arthroscopic surgery of the knee and shoulder, tendinopathies and rehabilitation of sporting injuries.
He is a pioneer in orthopaedic sport medicine, the first Asian to assume President of International Federation of Sports Medicine (FIMS).He is a past president of Chinese Speaking Orthopaedic Society (CSOS).
He became an ambassador of Bone and Joint Decade (BJD) in 2010.
Prof Chan was the Founder of StandTALL, an orthopaedic rehabilitation program initiated in the wake of the 5-12 earthquake in WenChuen, Sichuan, China in 2008. He was awarded the Humanitarian Award by the Chinese Orthopaedic Association (COA) in 2012.



Chairman of IRSF 2016:


Prof. Lilly CHENG

Dr. Lilly Cheng served as Professor in the School of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences at San Diego State University. She is the Managing Director of Confucius Institute at SDSU. She is a Fellow of American Speech, Language and Hearing Association and received the Honors of ASHA in 2013. Dr. Cheng is the recipient of 1997 ASHA Award for Special Contributions to Multicultural Affairs and the recipient of 2002 Diversity Award from California Speech and Hearing Association. She has published numerous articles and books on language learning and language teaching focusing on the development of an optimal language learning environment.


Executive chairman of IRSF


Prof. Wu Yi

Chief & Professor, Dept. of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Huashan Hospital;       

Chief &Tutor of PhD, Dept. of PM&R, Shanghai Medical College, Fudan University

Vice chairman and secretary of PM&R branch of The Chinese Medical Association;

Vice chairman of the professional committee branch of cerebral vascular diseases in Chinese Association of Rehabilitation Medicine.


The main research direction: the research of rehabilitation therapy to promote functional recovery of motor impairment, aphasia and cognitive dysfunction and dysphagia after stroke, or brain trauma. Focus attention on the mechanism of rehabilitation treatment after brain injury (Basic Research), clinical rehabilitation research on functional impairment (precise rehabilitation), as well as the rehabilitation of product R & D (translational medicine), and other series of rehabilitation research.